Deactivate Facebook: How to delete Facebook account?

On January 28, 2013, in Facebook, by deletefromblog

When you started using Facebook, it was new, fun and exciting! But now you have way too many people in your circle of friends. You don’t even know half of them, much less remember their names. Or may one of those online creeps is hounding you in the virtual world. Nevertheless it’s time to give it up and start fresh. But before you can do that, you would like to go ahead and delete your existing Facebook profile. How do you do that?  How do you permanently delete your Facebook profile account?

We are going to show you two different ways you can do just that?

Before we demonstrate that, please do realize and after you remove Facebook profile, there may be some aftershocks. What does that mean? If you were using Face book profile to login to external third party sites, after you get rid of your FB account, those sites will not function.  So make sure you log into those sites and possibly use another e-mail or switch profile.
Back to the process of removing your Facebook profile from the universe, here are the three different methods:

Deactivate Facebook – Method 1

 

First thing you need to do is to log into your Facebook account. After you do that, you can go to the following web page.

https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account

You may have to enter your password if you get the following the next screen capture.

 

deactivate-facebook-account1.jpg

 

After you enter your password, it should take you to this page. Here is what it looks like on our computer screen.

 

delete-facebook-profile2

 

Click on Delete My Account.

You will get the final dialog box.

 

deactivate-facebook-profile3

 

After you enter the captcha and FB password, hit Okay. You are done and will get the message on next window.

Your account has been deactivated from the site and will be permanently deleted within 14 days. If you log into your account within the next 14 days, you will have the option to cancel your request.

 

Deactivate Facebook – Method 2

 

It is certainly possible that Facebook may decide to move the delete account link mentioned above.  In that case we have another option for you. Login to Facebook, then click on the Help button in the bottom right corner of the screen.

We have included a screenshot of this right below.

 

delete-FB-profile4

 

After you click on that, the Facebook Help window pops up, go ahead and type the following:
“delete my account”.

We have included a figure of this right below.

 

permanently-delete-facebook-account5

 

From the list of items, go ahead and select.  Select “How do I permanently that light delete my account.” This will take to you another listing in the help section. We are almost there.

At this point you have two options:

  1. One is to deactivate your account. This will keep all of your Facebook information alive, just simply make your profile private. This way after the mourning period is over, you can always come back and reactivate your Facebook profile.
  2. The other option is to permanently remove Facebook account.  I would choose this option if you have had it with Facebook and if FB is keeping you up at night. You need to click on the link highlighted in black.

This is presented in the screen capture below.

 

remove-facebook-profile6

 

Next it will go through a set of screens and messages that we have already looked at above. The one where it reads “Please enter your password to continue”.  Finally when you’re done with the process you will get the following confirmation.You will also get a similar message in your email.

Your account has been deactivated from the site and will be permanently deleted within 14 days. If you log into your account within the next 14 days, you will have the option to cancel your request.

Related information on deleting Facebook page.